Board of Directors

Recycle BC is a legal entity in British Columbia with BC-based staff members that manage program operations, including the supply chain and promotional activities to engage residents.

The Recycle BC board includes:

  • John Coyne, Unilever Canada Inc. (Board Chair)
  • Paul Hazra, Overwaitea Food Group
  • Bob Chant, Loblaw Companies Limited
  • Debbie Baxter, Deloitte (Independent Director)

Finance & Audit Committee:

  • Debbie Baxter (Chair)
  • Paul Hazra

Recycle BC Industry Advisory Committee

The Recycle BC BC Advisory Committee includes local stakeholders involved in Recycle BC’s packaging and paper stewardship program. The committee serves as a forum through which BC stakeholders with an interest in the success and performance of Recycle BC’s program are kept informed about program developments and through which they can be consulted for advice and feedback.

The Advisory Committee is consulted on core elements of Recycle BC’s program to identify issues and suggest how they might be addressed, foster collaborative problem-solving and increased communication, and provide feedback and recommendations to Recycle BC regarding the operation of the program.

The committee meets up to four times annually. The committee Chair provides leadership, facilitates discussion and assists the committee in meeting its mandate.

The advisory committee is made up of the following representatives:

Will Burrows serves as Executive Director for the Coast Waste Management Association (CWMA), a membership association serving the solid waste industry in coastal British Columbia.

His waste and recycling career began 19 years ago as Project Manager for the largest metal recycler on Vancouver Island. In 2007, Will took on the role of Executive Director for CWMA. During his time, membership and annual conference participation more than doubled. Will was appointed to the Encorp Pacific (Canada) Advisory Committee in 2008.

Will lives in Cobble Hill, on Vancouver Island with his wife and three children and is a Past Area Governor for Toastmasters International organization on Vancouver Island.

Harvinder Aujala is the Information Services Manager for the Recycling Council of BC (RCBC), and has been with RCBC for 14 years. Harvinder is responsible for the management and delivery of RCBC’s programs and services, including the province-wide BC Recycling Hotline.

Harvinder brings to RCBC a thorough knowledge of provincial EPR programs, awareness of provincial regulations, and environmental policies. Harvinder routinely shares her knowledge with various stakeholders and community members, and is a frequent speaker at a variety of events on Zero Waste issues.

Andrew Doi is an Environmental Planner at Metro Vancouver, who specializes in extended producer responsibility (EPR) programs and policy. Andrew holds a Master’s degree in Resource and Environmental Management from Simon Fraser University and is a Registered Professional Planner. Andrew began working at the Greater Vancouver Regional District in 2001, and he has been focusing on EPR programs since 2008. He participates on a number of working groups and committees, including the Electronic Products Recycling Association, Tire Stewardship BC, and others.

Rob C. Gay is serving his third term as an Electoral Area Director with the Regional District of East Kootenay, representing the rural areas/citizens around the City of Cranbrook. He was elected the regional district Chair in 2011, and was Vice Chair for four years before that. Rob has always lived in the Kootenay Boundary region, and his work experience includes professional forestry with the BC Forest Service in various locations, Kootenay – Boundary Regional Manager with the BC Crown Corporation Forest Renewal BC, and General Manager with Community Futures East Kootenay a non-profit that assisted small business. Rob is also the Chair of the Association of BC Forest Professionals finance committee, a member of the BC Municipal Finance Authority, and has served on the executive of the Southern Interior Beetle Action Society and the Association of Kootenay Boundary Local Government. Rob is married with two grown children and one grandson and lives near Cranbrook, BC.

Bill Hardy has been involved in the landscape horticulture industry for over 30 years. Bill has served as a director on Provincial, National and International horticultural trade associations for many of those years. Currently Bill is the PR & Environment Chair with the Canadian Nursery Landscape Association and the Science & Education Chair for the International Association of Horticultural Producers. Bill is also a director with HortEducationBC, the Industry Trade Organization responsible for horticulture apprenticeship programs in BC.

Bill is General Manager with Northwest Landscape Supply with locations in Squamish and Burnaby BC, as well as Co-Owner of Grow & Gather Garden Centre in Maple Ridge BC.

Paul Ives practiced as a lawyer in Comox for several years before being elected to the Town of Comox council in 2002 and re-elected in 2005. In 2008, Paul was elected Mayor of the Town of Comox and then re-elected in 2011 and 2014. From 2005 to 2011, Paul served on Comox Valley Regional District Board and chaired the Comox Valley Sports, Water and Sewer Commission as well as serving as CVRD’s member on the Municipal Finance Authority and the Town’s voting member on the Municipal Insurance Authority. In 2012, Paul was elected Vice Chair of the North Island Sunshine Coast Regional Advisory Committee, as part of Island-Coastal Economic Trust.

Paul and his wife Paula reside in the Town of Comox and enjoy walking their dog, Hannah, the Golden Retriever, in the Northeast Woods, along with cycling, skiing, squash, tennis, baseball and hockey. Their three adult children live on Vancouver Island.